Skiing in Allemont with Léa

6595_10152738363740515_1829688167_n

Over the Easter weekend, Léa invited me to come skiing in her family’s apartment in Allemont near Oz En Oisans near Alpe D’Huez. We arrived late on thursday night, unfortunately the weather over thursday and friday wasn’t very nice – rainy and lots of fog high up in the mountains, so we decided not to go out skiing. Instead we explored the area, there is a beautiful big lake in the village, which apparently is even nicer in the summer. The water was an amazing colour! We also played some games, in both french and english, and went to the swimming centre on saturday which was fun. I tried lots of new things like quenelles – flour – y/potato – y/semolina dumplings. Difficult to describe but tasty, we had them with a béchamel sauce but you can get lots of different types. I also tried Tarte Flambée, a speciality of the Alsace region, very thin dough with creme fraiche, onions and lardons, also delicious!

IMG_1634

IMG_1622

On sunday morning, the weather was perfect for skiing, so we woke early, made a packed lunch and set out to the slopes! Luckily I had the same shoe size as her sister so Léa kindly let me borrow all her skiing equipment. It was my first time skiing in about 5 years so I was very hesitant but I soon got the hang of it again. Léa knew all the slopes and all the lifts so she led the way which was great. She was a very good and fast skier and had to wait for me at the bottom of each slope but I think I did okay. I was certainly very very achy after the first day! On the second day we stopped and had hot chocolates in the mountains and had brought with us squirty cream! We both caught the sun a bit on the first day, but it seems to be going down a bit now, after plenty of cream applications! The view from the top of the mountains was so beautiful. I was too worried to take up my new camera but I took a few on my phone.

1646_10152738365210515_1258478891_n

Yesterday we left the apartment early and drove back to Lyon and Léa gave me a tour of its highlights. We went to the central square – Bellecour, and along the main shopping street, then up into the old town, La Croix Rousse and saw a view over the city. Also the Bartholdi Fountain at the Place des Terreaux, the Opera house, and we crossed over the river. We sat and had a coffee in a lovely little square overlooking the Temple du Change, the former stock exchange of Lyon. Then she showed me the new big shopping centre called La Confluence. It was enormous and very modern! We sat and ate an almond tuile and I tried the speciality of Lyon – brioche aux pralines, a brioche bun with a bright pink sugar and hazelnut glaze, AMAZING! Then we had to catch our train back to Paris, and I rushed home to drop my things and met up with some friends in the evening.

IMG_1645 IMG_1649

 

Leave a Reply

