When Amy and Hope came to Paris

IMG_1598

A day after Mum and Dad left, I had two more visitors! Amy and Hope came to Paris on the friday morning and I met them for lunch during my break at work. We went to Le Moulin de la Galette. A famous restaurant which had inspired the well known painting. It was great to see them again and we had a really nice lunch, to start I had foie gras which was delicious, followed by beef. The presentation was beautiful and good value with the 20% off thanks to Lafourchette! Then I had to get back to work, I met them at my flat that afternoon and we went to Rosa Bonheur, a café/bar in le Parc des Buttes Chaumont. Where we met some of my other friends had some delicious birthday pattiserie!

IMG_1471

The next morning, we went to the Musée D’Orsay, and then went for lunch in a café nearby. We went to the Orangerie then walked around Paris, through the Tuileries and Place de la Concorde to Notre Dame where the new bells were being rung for the first time  for the 850th birthday. There were loads of people there so we stayed for a bit, then went into Shakespeare & Co, busy as ever with people buying books! On the way to Saint-Michel for dinner we passed a young group playing in a brass band which was really good! Léa came with us for dinner and we went to a very typical french place. I tried frogs legs for the first time! They came as actual legs which I dont think I was expecting. That put me off a bit, but I tried them and they were indeed quite like chicken! After dinner we went on a boat trip to see the city by night, with some sparkling wine. The Eiffel Tower looked lovely.

IMG_1560

The next day we got up early and ventured out into a very cold Paris! We went to visit the memorial to Diana – La flamme de la liberté, and Hope wrote a message on the wall amongst the many others. Then we went into Notre Dame where there was a special Easter service on so it was very busy! We then went to visit the lock bridge, Le pont des arts and put on a lock. Then I took them to Angelinas for hot chocolate and Amy rushed off for her flight back to Valencia. Afterwards Hope and I went to Montmatre and then to Les Deux Moulins – the café which Amélie works in in the film. I’d wanted to go for a while and it was exactly how it was in the film and a really nice bar, we had fruit cocktails. Then came home and Hope went to get her megabus back to Newcastle.

IMG_1617

One thought on “When Amy and Hope came to Paris

Leave a Reply

