Collection Howard Greenberg et le cimetière de Montparnasse

IMG_0147
IMG_0152 IMG_0154Today I went to Montparnasse armed with my new camera. I decided to check out a recommended exhbition from TimeOut. The Howard Greenberg Collection at the Henri Certier-Bresson Fondation. The exhibition was a selection from his personal collection of photographs including the very famous Lunch Atop a Skyscraper, by Ebbets, 1932. I found the building along a rather unassuming street but inside it was ulta-modern – white-washed walls and black and white photographs in white mounts and wooden frames. There were some beautiful photos of varying subjects but mostly portraits. I took quite a few photos in the first room, but obviously was a bit snap happy as a man came and told me off (obviously having seen me taking photos on the security camera!) I liked the quotes painted on the walls amongst the photos. This one beneath was my favourite. 
IMG_0157
IMG_0163
IMG_0158
IMG_0161


IMG_0165I then left and on my way back to the metro stumbled past the Cimetière de Montparnasse, so decided to take a look. I’d never been to a cemetery alone before, and especially one of this size and on a cold wintery afternoon. Safe to say I was a bit spooked as it was deserted, but also in awe of its sheer size, it was enormous! The graves were mostly fairly old, but I saw one covered in flowers and it was dated 2013. Since it was very cold, I had a quick look around and went back to my cosy flat! 

IMG_0169 IMG_0170
IMG_0175
IMG_0177

Leave a Reply

