The start of a new chapter….

Last night was my first night at my new home for the next 9 months. I’m living in the 13th arrondissement of Paris with a young girl and her mother who are both french. So here begins my very rapid descent into the french language and french way of life!

  My first few weeks in Paris have been fairly hectic trying to sort a bank account and finding a place to live, but also quite parisian. I’ve spent a lot of time eating pain au chocolats, baguette, cheese and drinking coffee! I have been living in Boulogne with Georgia for the past three weeks out of a suitcase, so it feels good to finally have all my clothes unpacked! We have been to a few touristy spots, including La Tour Eiffel of course, some markets and La Musée D’Orsay, but i’m keen to do everything here!

  First impressions of Lycée Jules Ferry are good, I only work three days a week which means wednesday and thursday form a little midweek weekend which is nice. I havent yet taken an entire class, I am sent off with maximum 5 students from each class just to have english conversation with them. I’m mostly listening to them doing presentations and grading them. Most of the students are friendly and interested in english, but a few aren’t so much and find speaking in english challenging. The school itself is beautiful, very old. Each classroom has a different original mural on the walls and the floors are mainly made up of detailed mosaics. As well as being an old school they also have smart boards in most classrooms, so its a nice mix of old and new.

  Yesterday I packed up all my many bags and took a taxi to my new apartment! Georgia helped me to move and unpack, and my room is now feeling very home-y, with my beautiful duvet covers from Pandora! (my bed is a sofa bed but a very comfy one and its huge, my double bedsheet wouldn’t fit on!) After living in Boulogne with my friends which felt more like a holiday than the start of my year abroad this feels more like the start of my new chapter..

  This morning, Claire’s mother showed me the weekly market just across the road from our apartment. I was told that some stalls aren’t good, but there are about 3 or 4 good commercants. It was a lovely market and I intend to go again though probably won’t make it there every week.. Today, I went with Rory and Adam to Marché Richard Lenoir which was good, loads of food stalls displaying all sorts of meat, vegetables and fish, and even live snails!! Since it was lovely and sunny today we also went to the Marché aux puces de  Montreuil, which was very busy! It was on the outskirts of Paris and consisted of loads of second hand clothes, hardware, some new clothes and then the occasional ‘brocante’ stall. Most of it was tat, but I bought a curtain for my window. We then walked over to the ‘Quartier de Jussieu’ and had this delicious lebanese street food at ‘Chez Hanna’ who makes supposedly the best falafel in the world!

  Now just preparing for the next week at school ahead: week 3. Friday marks the start of a 2 week holiday which will be fun and I am really looking forward to exploring more of Paris and settling in.

Leave a Reply

